You are not logged in.

My Restoration Project... Step by Step...  RSS Feed

#1 2008-12-18 2:44pm

xtremevert
Pro MemberThe Gate Keeper
Bikes: 16

My Restoration Project... Step by Step...

I've never done a step by step before so here we go.  I bought this frame from tacomaster with big plans to build a 89 GT Pro Freestyle Tour Team.  I was going to have it chromed and I'm actually picking up the correct 89 Team decals tonight from the printers.  Then Alex sent me some blue and white 88 Team decals and I've also picked up some 88 pink and white Team decals from AJK Bikes.  So now I'm having to make a decision on what to do.  Haven't decided quite yet.

All I know for sure is that this will be a custom build with my touch of new school, mid school and old school NOS and re-conditioned parts.  Here is a pic (the original from tacomaster's for sale thread).

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii149/xtremevert/91GTPerformerbefore1.jpg

And here it is after I stripped it... at the shop.  The guys were complaining about the fumes while stripping it at work during the day.  tongue  Ooops...

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii149/xtremevert/StrippedGTframe004.jpg

I will be adding rear 990 mounts and drilling the tube and tapping it for a cable guide/adjuster to be mounted just like on the 87-88 Sport's and Master's which will also require a tack welded cable guide on the down tube for cable routing.  Sweet.  big_smile

My Father once spoke to me and said "The way you look at your bike is the way I see My children, I look past the imperfections and rough surfaces to the beauty of the finished product."

#2 2008-12-18 2:51pm

DOMPHIPPSIO
Pro Member
Website

Re: My Restoration Project... Step by Step...

great start, looking forward to seeing it get colour cool

#3 2008-12-18 2:52pm

tnyvillegas
Museum Addict
Bikes: 14

NICE MAN!

#4 2008-12-18 3:18pm

Charlie Brown
Pro MemberCB Doom
Bikes: 1